Personal Moral Framework

Personal Moral Framework



My Personal Moral Framework is based on two passages of Scriptures 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 and Galatians 5: 22-26. These two scriptures contain 22 characteristics that will never fail according to 1 Corinthians 13:8 and is above all laws according to Galatians 5:23. These characteristics not failing and being above all law is essential to the morality and ethics debate. Scripture has laid out a universal ethical guide for humanity. Since as a Christian I believe that the bible is the direct word of God I choose to live by these principles and allow my live to be defined by them.


  1. Patience – the capacity to accept or tolerate delay, trouble, or suffering without getting angry or upset.
  2. Kindness – the quality of being friendly, generous, and considerate.
  3. Contentment – a state of happiness and satisfaction. Contentment is being used for do not envy.
  4. Don’t boast – Boasting is talking excessively with pride in your achievements implying you did it apart from God.
  5. No Pride – Pride is a feeling or deep pleasure or satisfaction derived from one’s own achievements, the achievements of those with whom one is closely associated, or from qualities or possessions that are widely admired. Pride is the original sin of the enemy known as the devil. The opposite of pride would be humility. Humility is a modest or low view of one’s own importance; humbleness.
  6. Selflessness – concern more with the needs and wishes of others than with one’s own.
  7. Not angry – Angry is having a strong feeling of or showing annoyance, displeasure, or hostility; full of anger. The goal is to let go.
  8. Forgiving – ready and willing to forgive or feeling angry or resentful toward (someone) for an offense, flaw, or mistake.
  9. Purity – freedom from adulteration or contamination.
  10. of a person or statement telling or expressing the truth; honest.
  11. Truthful – of a person or statement telling or expressing the truth; honest.
  12. Protector – a person or thing that protects someone or something.
  13. Trustworthy – able to be relied on as honest or truthful.
  14. Hopeful – feeling or inspiring optimism about a future event.
  15. Perseverance – steadfastness in doing something despite difficulty or delay in achieving success.
  16. Loving –feeling or showing love or great care.
  17. Joyful –feeling, expressing, or causing great pleasure and happiness.
  18. Peaceful –free from disturbance; tranquil.
  19. Merciful –showing or exercising mercy. Mercy is compassion or forgiveness shown toward someone whom it is within one’s power to punish or harm.
  20. Good – that which is morally right; righteousness.
  21. Faithful –loyal, staunch, steadfast mean firm in one’s allegiance to someone or something
  22. Gentle –mild in temperament or behavior; kind or tender.
  23. Disciplined – showing a controlled form of behavior or way of working.

To put the list in context it’s important to note the actual scripture reference.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Galatians 5: 22-26

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Against such things, there is no law. Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.